Note of a Bookworm


http://www.altfg.com/blog/actors/robert-osborne-kate-winslet-the-reader/

I resolved to read one book per week sometime around four years ago. I don’t know exactly why. But I guess the decision was inspired when I heard Oprah confess that her dad strictly imposed the one book per week rule . Not that I aspire to be like Oprah (though money and power doesn’t sound bad at all. Wait, hold that thought.Why ever not?), but the rule must be good, having turned out the way she did.

But I was only able to act on the resolution this year. I also read a lot in the past years but now I strictly monitor the titles that I have read, and force myself to pick up a book, focus and stay on track. My undergraduate thesis is also about recreational reading, so I learned a lot about the art of reading. I can finish a maximum of three books in a week, but only when I’m not neck-deep in chores and pressure.

Those who can read at least a book per week are called ludic readers (Nell, 1998). They also go by a variety of terms: recreational readers, voluntary readers, extensive readers, informal readers, independent readers, avid readers, aesthetic readers, etc. A ludic reader has to read at read at least 52 books a year; lest, the reader falls into another category: seldom reader (<5 book/yr), moderate reader (6-20 books/yr), constant reader (20-51 books/yr).

BTW, here’s a favorite picture of mine. Painted by Karl Spitzweg, Der Beucherwurm”(The Bookworm).

Anyway, much has been studied and written about the benefits of reading so am not gonna add them here. I guess, I’m writing about the experience because I have surpassed the quota this year (yey!).  The titles I have previously enjoyed were a mixed bunch, there are classics, YA, romance. Most of them are on ebooks, some were borrowed, or stolen. Kidding! HAHAHA! Am currently on my 53rd book, it’s  Arturo Perez-Reverte’s The Painter of Battles.

I heard Stephen King’s wife can read more than 16 novels per week, so she advises her husband on what works (yay). That means she can consume at least 832 books per year (double yay!). Well, wish me luck, hope to get to u hundred by 31st December!

How about you? what book are you on now?

Author: roxeego

Theatre Actress, Writer, Animal Lover, Phantom. I'm anything you want me to be.

Leave a Reply

